History of the school
The picture above shows the school in 1932. We have a collection of archive photos dating back to 1914 on display in The Boardroom.
Founded in 1914 by Mr Wilfred Keble Rhodes and his wife with approximately 6 children. Moor Allerton School originally prepared boys for entrance to independent boarding schools at the age of 13, and to grammar schools at 11. Girls weren’t admitted until 1981 when Nursery and Infant classes were started.
The original building was on Palatine Road. During the War years it used premises at the Ryleys School and Pownall Hall School before moving back to its present site on Barlow Moor Road. The school is now housed in two large Victorian houses, to which other buildings have been added, in a pleasant area of West Didsbury.
The first four Headmasters also owned the school and lived on the premises. Previous headmasters included Messrs Rhodes, Oliver, Tibbs, Mr Pugh, and Mr Clarke.
In 1980 the school was bought by Mr K McNeany who appointed Mr M J Clarke as Headmaster. Already a teacher at the school, Mr Clarke was also a former a pupil and Head Boy. Our current Head Teacher, Mr Millard, took up the position when Mr Clarke retired in 2000.
We have many photographs around the school showing its past history, teachers and pupils.
In 2004, the school was taken over by GEMS UK Ltd.
The school is continually evolving. We acquired an adjacent building in 2005, which meant we could expand to two-form entry thus meeting the heavy demand on places. It also allowed us to create new playing areas, a dance and music studio, a new ICT Suite, extra classrooms and librariesalong with a uniform shop.